Highland Slot Car Club  29 May

Race Report from the Highland 8 at Highland Slot Car Club

This is the saddest report I have had to write so please excuse some truncated race reporting. The event was overshadowed when the news broke that this had been the last BSL event that Chas Keeling would attend as he passed away a few days later. On a positive note attending a BSL event to both compete and to bring along his numerous beloved boxes of stock was what Chas lived for and will be fondly remembered for. In the 20 plus years of BSL Chas only missed one round and that because he was hospitalised. Rumour has it that he tried to discharge himself to attend which is just typical of his determination and support over the years to the BSL. His distinctive sway as he got into rhythmic driving along with his infectious grin will never be forgotten. May he rest in peace.

1/32 Individual

The heats

The Highland 8 is a track that allows the super production cars to stretch their legs and for once Martin set the pace ahead of Shep. In the falcon runners it was home star Murray Wallace who had two laps in hand over Alan Lucas and Richard Wallace. Pat Skene was quickest of the Genesis runners but hobbled on this track by the fixed gearing.

In the finals, Pete Farthing took the C on 47 laps from a close scrap for second and third with three drivers on 44. Steve Bamber finishing second and Harry Shepherd third. Chas finished sixth.

In the B Pat Skene took the win with his Genesis setting a high mark of 52 laps which would have been good enough for second place falcon in the A. Peter Donelly and Norman Fawcett were second and third. The A final was about whether Martin could convert his heat form into the win and he did it in style on nearly 57 laps finishing two laps up on Shep and Steve Sargent on 54. In the falcons Murray was top and not far behind the fast boys on 53 from Alan and Richard on 51.

A Martin Ellis   56.85 (SP)

 Paul Shepherd  54.70 (SP)

 Steve Sargent  54.10 (SP)

 Murray Wallace 53.10

 David Sargent  52.30 (SP)

 Alan Lucas 51.45

 Richard Wallace 51.30

 Keith Charles 49.90


B Pat Skene 52.10

 Peter Donelly  50.75 (SP)

 Norman Fawcett 49.70

 Pete Clarkson 49.50

 Paul Hacket Evans 47.30

 Steve Smith 43.70

 Steve Mavor 15.00


C Pete Farthing 47.30

 Steve Bamber 44.80

 Harry Shepherd 44.35

 Sandy Wedderburn 44.25

 Steven Fraser 43.40

 Chas Keeling 42.15

 Cohen Mavor 32.50

1/24 team race

In the team race there were four teams in contention for the win all setting more than 650 laps in the hour race. David Sargent was revelling with a very quick car and Young Guns went on to record the win with BST. Young Guns had to settle for second on 686 laps. Local team RM Racing finished third on 662 having been hobbled by their motor having an inconsistent fault slowing down and speeding up a number of times. Of the 11 teams Team SCD with Chas finished eighth and local driver Sandy Wedderburn has wonderful memories of dicing side by side with Chas for many laps with that wonderful gentleman grinning and swaying for lap after lap.

BST 670.90

Young Guns 686.30

RM Racing 662.90

No Idea 658.60

Team 131 646.15

Fylde 1 625.90

Team Shep 618.05

SCD 591.30

Bee Bumble 564.25

Highland 462.00

Team Mavor 242.90

Chas you will remain in our memories for ever.

© Copyright  British Slotracing League 2016 All rights reserved

BSL 2016  British Slotracing League